Skip to content

The Success Behind Charging Less

July 20, 2011

I love scouring the internet for small agency news.  Any bit of information I can soak in, I love it all. Today, I came across an article that really reinforced something that I already believe in and that Thrive already acts upon.  It is the idea that your content should speak louder than any dollar amount you spend on advertising.  Because I don’t feel like I could say it any better myself, I will include an excerpt from the article:

“Howard Gossage is the guy that said, ‘Nobody reads ads. People read what interests them, and sometimes it’s an ad.’ In the 1960s he’s the guy that told the industry that they needed to quit talking in ‘advertisingese’ and have conversations with people. Maybe Gossage’s message crept into the mind of some social-media guru who shocked us with the idea that ‘it’s all about the conversation.’

Long before ROI became a buzzword, Gossage understood accountability and pioneered direct-response ads in magazines. He introduced Marshall McLuhan to the mainstream and spoke passionately about advertising’s responsibility to the public.

What really blew me away while reading Gossage was maybe one of the simplest business models I have ever encountered. It’s one sentence that hit me like a wave:

‘Our agency does not believe in spending too much money for advertising. We try to keep budgets as low as we possibly can and to say what we do say in as interesting a manner as possible.’

Think of all the clients that would beat a path to your door if you followed that philosophy. Imagine the creative clarity that you would discover if those words served as your business conscience.”

Anyway, I just thought that was some fun stuff to think about. Any agency can benefit from that advice. What do you guys think?

 

-Stasia

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 8:17 am

    This approach would ensure ads do not over-saturate the marketplace and ‘annoy’ consumers. However, agencies do try to increase budgets otherwise they cannot grow themselves.

Leave a Reply

