Skip to content

Internship Tips

April 28, 2011

As a college student, I now have had two internships, but it wasn’t easy. It is a very competitive world out there so I thought I would share a few tips on how I got my internships and a few other bits of information you might find helpful if you’re a college student too!

Use social media to your advantage: I got on twitter and started tweeting companies I was interested in. I asked if they were hiring, who I could get in contact with, or where I could send my resume. Sure enough one of the companies I tweeted was looking for an intern! You can do the same with facebook.

Create an e-portfolio: This is something that I am still working on, but an e-portfolio will set you apart from the hundreds of resumes companies see. Create something where employers can see your work and experience, whether that be a website, a blog, or power point. Create something that shows what you have done in college classes, previous work experiences, or an internship you already had.

Network: This word is used frequently but when I say network I mean NETWORK. Talk to friends of friends of friends. Ask everyone you know if they know someone that is in your field. Get on blogs. Comment on sites. Ask teachers, family members, and friends and then ask all of their teachers, family members, and friends. E-mail, call, mail. Do whatever you have to do. Networking is actually how I started blogging for Thrive!

Have your resume and a cover letter ready at any time: This is also something I am working on but we all know these two things are crucial to have ready in a pdf. format to be sent out. Also be sure to try and tailor your resume to the company you are applying for!

Have any questions? Comment and ask Robin! Have any other tips for college students? Comment and tell us!

-Becca

picture source
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

