Skip to content

Instant Advertising

March 29, 2011

Check out this cool tidbit from consumerist.com about a new advertising strategy that Facebook is trying out. It kind of works like other Facebook ads that you have seen, only faster! You know when you get on Facebook and they have the column to the right with various ads on them? I don’t know about any of you, but sometimes it feels like they are inside my head! For example, I LOVE diet coke, and without fail there is usually some sort of Coca Cola ad in there, and also, some ad for meeting singles my age. Now it doesn’t take a genius to figure out how they know what to put on my page, but it is still kind of impressive. So my relationship status says I’m single, it’s obvious how they figured out that one, but I don’t mention anything about diet coke on my page. How do they know? Perhaps it’s from the multiple friends who leave comments about my diet coke obsession, or the photos tagged of me with a diet coke in hand…perhaps.

But check this out, now Facebook is working on perfecting the ability to advertise to you instantly! How you ask? Status updates! So if you mention how badly you’re craving Junior Mints one minute, the next minute (or possibly second) you’ll see the glorious candy ad in your margin. Pretty clever don’t you think?

-Stasia

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

